Team Based Learning: The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

by Mallory B Taylor

Just like all things there are pros and cons, team based learning is no exception. Before I get too deep into the bad and the ugly of team based learning it is important to understand what it is and why it is used. Team based learning is sometimes interchanged with the term group learning-but it is important to note that these terms do NOT have the same meaning. The difference can be seen when groups develop into teams. Just like athletics, it is important to form these groups into strong, well-working teams that all want to achieve a common goal. Once groups evolve into teams many positive attributes come from this type of learning including: the enhanced quality of student learning, the restoration of teacher’s joy of teaching, etc. Team based learning also has some well known issues including: students receiving the same grade for different amounts of work and involvement, difficulty scheduling outside of class meeting times, some group members do not care about the success of the group, etc. I have had many experiences being apart of team based learning, with the majority of my experiences being great or neutral-but I also have experienced the bad and the ugly. I want to preface my story by saying that I do not believe in doing an average job, settling for an average grade, or not giving 100% towards anything. Thus, I believe I have high expectations for myself and my team partners. As I stated earlier, I have had some neutral and great experiences with team based learning and those should not be overlooked. When team based learning is implemented well the experiences students can have offer a lot of great learning possibilities and potential for great understanding of the topics discussed. But with that said, even the most well planned and implemented team based learning techniques can end poorly when students don’t care about their team, their grade, or completing assignments. My bad experience with team based learning involved a member just as I described, a student who wanted to do the minimum, wanted nothing to with the team, and didn’t own up to their lack of input and work. Yes, this was an issue but it never caused any real tension in the group until it came time to asses the group members. Where peer assessment can help alleviate issues such as the same grade being given to all participants regardless of work/effort put forth, it can also cause a rivet between members when this assessment is not taken well by a group member (my experience required mid-term and final evaluation of all group members by diving up a score between all participants-which resulted in some members receiving higher grades than others). I see the importance of students evaluating their peers and I also see the importance of doing that twice (and allowing students to change if need be) but this places a lot of stress on team members who see another team member slacking off. Now comes in the ethics, as a team member we all are a team and want to achieve the same goal-but one person didn’t work as hard as others, but do I want to cause a riff in the team? Do I want to be the person who gives them a lower grade? Personally for me this is no issue, I give the grade that is earned, but I believe that most students wouldn’t feel so comfortable in such situations. My experiences with team based learning have provided me with examples and information about what to expect if/when I work this technique into my classroom. I will be able to think back to when I was subjected to such environments and how I felt and better yet, I will be able to provide real examples that show my strengths and struggles with such techniques as they may arise.

-Mallory